Top 25 most dangerous software weaknesses than can affect satellites in 2023

0
335

Issues of vulnerabilities of space systems to cyber attacks has long been ignored for reasons common to industrial systems or SCADA (Supervisory Control And Data Acquisition) type.

Reality and experience show that today’s world is not the same as the old world. It’s now essential to consider the vulnerability of space systems to cyber attacks.

The latest generation of satellites, such as those from SpaceX, are looking to keep costs down, so most of them use Open Source software. This makes them just as vulnerable to cyber threats as any other piece of hardware.

In the age of globalisation, the supply chain is often internationalised. It’s difficult to control completely. The introduction of malicious components or software is not completely impossible for a motivated bad or adversary actor. For example, a backdoor could be introduced into the satellite’s components or software.

The ground stations with which satellites communicate are not all that isolated. The same applies to the command and control centres that pilot the satellites via the ground stations. Most of them need to communicate with the outside world, as they do with data centres, even if this is done via secure Internet links.

Access to the satellites may be physically impossible, but it’s still possible to gain access via their ground station or their command and control system. This is a potential gateway for a malicious actor.

Software is an inherent part of satellites, launchers and space systems. This is known as “on-board satellite software” or “software-defined satellite”.

Commercial players with an interest in cutting costs tend to ignore the cybersecurity of space systems by using Open Source software, reusing software code from other programmes, or even reusing old code.

Technically, the only way to avoid service interruptions is to ensure the technological redundancy of ground stations, electrical networks and hardware and software on board satellites. But poorly coded software, even if redundant, remains vulnerable.

With this in mind, we’ve decided to take an increasing interest in software. We take this opportunity to remind you that the MITRE has just released the Top 25 most dangerous software weaknesses for 2023.

The list is based on an analysis of public vulnerability data in the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)’s National Vulnerability Data (NVD) for root cause mappings to CWE (Common Weaknesses Enumeration) for years 2021 and 2022.

A total of 43,996 CVE from the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities (KEV) database were examined and a score was attached to each of them based on prevalence and severity.

A the top, you have : Out-of-bounds Write, Cross-site Scripting, SQL Injection, Use After Free, OS Command Injection, Improper Input Validation, Out-of-bounds Read, Path Traversal, Cross-Site Request Forgery (CSRF), and Unrestricted Upload of File with Dangerous Type.

More info here : https://cwe.mitre.org/top25/

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Top 25 most dangerous software weaknesses than can affect satellites in 2023

0
117

La question de la vulnérabilité des systèmes spatiaux aux cyberattaques a longtemps été ignorée pour des raisons communes avec les systèmes industriels de type SCADA (Supervisory Control And Data Acquisition).

La réalité et l’expérience montrent que le monde d’aujourd’hui n’est plus le même que le monde d’avant. Il est désormais indispensable de se poser la question de la vulnérabilité des systèmes spatiaux aux cyberattaques.

Les satellites de dernière génération comme ceux de SpaceX cherchent à tirer les coûts vers le bas si bien qu’ils utilisent pour la plupart des logiciels Open Source. Cela les expose d’avantage à des cyber-menaces comme n’importe quel autre autre matériel informatique.

La chaîne logistique, à l’ère de la mondialisation est souvent internationalisée. Il est difficile de la maîtriser complètement. L’introduction de composants ou de logiciels malveillant n’est pas complètement impossible pour un acteur motivé qui s’en donnerait les moyens. On peut imaginer par exemple l’introduction de backdoor dans les composants ou les logiciels du satellite.

Les stations au sol avec lesquelles communiquent les satellites ne sont pas si isolées que ça. C’est le même constat pour les centres de Contrôle-Commande qui pilotent les satellites via les stations au sol. Ils ont pour la plupart besoin de communiquer avec l’extérieur comme avec des centre de données même si cela se fait via des liaisons sécurisées sur internet.

Les accès aux satellites sont certes impossibles physiquement mais un accès via leur station au sol ou via leur système de Contrôle-Commande restent possibles. C’est une porte d’accès potentielle pour un acteur malveillant.

Les logiciels font parties inhérentes des satellites, lanceurs et systèmes spatiaux. On parle de « on board satellite software » ou de « Software-defined satellite ».

Les acteurs commerciaux qui ont intérêt à baisser les coûts ont tendance à ignorer la cybersécurité des systèmes spatiaux en utilisant des logiciels Open Source, en réutilisant du code logiciel d’autres programmes, voire même en réutilisant du vieux code.

Techniquement, seule la redondance technologique des stations au sol, des réseaux électriques et des hardware et software à bord des satellites, peuvent permettre d’éviter les interruptions de service. Mais un logiciel mal codé, même s’il est redondé, reste vulnérable.

C’est dans cette optique que nous avons décidé de nous intéresser de plus en plus aux logiciels. A cette occasion, nous rappelons que le MITRE vient tout juste de sortir les 25 plus grandes failles de sécurité des logiciels pour l’année 2023 (Top 25 most dangerous software weaknesses)

La liste est basée sur une analyse de la base de données publique du NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) appelée « National Vulnerability Data » ou NVD. Le NIST a pris les causes principales des incidents de sécurité pour les 2 dernières années 2021 et 2022 et les a mappées sur les CWE (Common Weaknesses Enumeration).

Un total de 43.996 CVE de la base « Known Exploited Vulnerabilities » (KEV) ont été examinés et un score a été attaché à chacun d’entre-eux basé sur la prévalence et la sévérité.

Au top de la liste, vous avez : Out-of-bounds Write, Cross-site Scripting, SQL Injection, Use After Free, OS Command Injection, Improper Input Validation, Out-of-bounds Read, Path Traversal, Cross-Site Request Forgery (CSRF), and Unrestricted Upload of File with Dangerous Type.

Pour en savoir plus : https://cwe.mitre.org/top25/

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

S'il vous plaît entrez votre commentaire!
S'il vous plaît entrez votre nom ici

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.